This is the "Research" page of the "Library Resources and Research Tools" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Resources and Research Tools  

A one-stop shop for research help, links to all things library, and a look at new books!
Last Updated: Dec 11, 2015 URL: http://flintridgeprep.libguides.com/libguidegeneral Print Guide RSS Updates

Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Catalog

Click on 'Chandramohan Library' via the link to access the Library Catalog.

Database Passwords

 

MLA Citation

MLA Citation Guide--From Research and Documentation Online, 5th ed. by Diane Hacker, used with permission--Use the drop-down box to find examples of every type of source imaginable in correct MLA format!

Noodletools--Our build-it-yourself tool to create bibliographies in correct MLA Format, make notecards, and much more!  Sign up here to create your own account.

Purdue OWL's MLA site is another fine resource for MLA or any other form of citation.

 

Databases! Use the link to Prep's home page to log in and access the usernames and passwords

Prep Library Web Site—Find links to all databases, research tools, library catalog, MLA rules, book recommendations, public library catalogs, and lots more!  Log in to access database passwords!     Go to: http://flintridgeprep.org , log in, look for the tab 'A Prep Education', click on Library.

  Gale Virtual Reference Library     

AccessScience---Searchable science reference materials written by top experts in their fields, 1000s of illustrations, links to evaluated websites, science news & more.   Go to:  www.accessscience.com

Britannica Online---More than an encyclopedia, it includes an atlas, videos, journal & magazine articles, & much more!  Start your research here!  Go to: http://search.eb.com

Consumer Reports on Line—Use our subscription from school or home  Go to: www.consumerreports.com

Daily Life Online--Find out about everyday life through history reference works, monographs, and primary documents.  Search by time period, region, or topic.   Go To: http://dailylife.greenwood.com

Gale DatabasesU.S. & World History in Context, Opposing Viewpoints, Literature Resource Center, eBooks & primary sources online for a wide variety of disciplines.  Go to: http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/la85110

Grove Art Online--All 34 vols of Dictionary of Art, images, & more.  Go to: www.groveart.com

Grove Music Online—Everything about music: genres, biographies, & sound files.   Go to: www.grovemusic.com

JSTOR—JSTOR includes hundreds of scholarly journals on a wide variety of topics.  Your most successful searches are advanced searches, where you can specify that you only want articles, which eliminates results including book reviews.  Please see the Database Password page for a link to set up your JSTOR account.  If you have already created an account, you may log on with your personal username/password. 

Oxford African American Studies CenterWorks by noted scholars, timelines, maps, images, and links to internet resources make this a valuable resource!   Go to: www.oxfordaasc.com

OED Online—All the volumes, all the time!   Go to: www.oed.com

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online—French, Latin, Spanish!  It has it all!!!  Go to: www.oxfordlanguagedictionaries.com

Pop Culture Database—A collection of articles & images in popular culture from the 1920s to the 2000s.Music, art, media, film, religion, personalities, cultural events & more!   Go to: http://pop.greenwood.com

Proquest Historical Newspapers---Includes every story from seven U.S. newspapers, in their original format!  This is an amazing history resource!

Proquest Platinum—Indexes 100s of magazines, newspapers & journals.

Proquest AP Science—500+ scientific journals & magazines

Go to: www.proquestk12.com

Ask the Librarians!

Profile Image
Sue Hodge, Meryl Eldridge, Reggie Ursettie
Contact Info
shodge@flintridgeprep.org, meldridge@flintridgeprep.org, rursettie@flintridgeprep.org
Send Email
 

Plagiarism: What is it?

Plagiarism is the use of reference sources without providing correct acknowledgements. When you use ideas or words created by another person and do not give proper credit, you are claiming the words or ideas are your own. In essence, you are stealing from the original writer.

Plagiarism may take many forms: cheating, copying information directly without providing quotation marks, failing to cite sources, or citing sources incorrectly.   Ignorance of the rules of correct citation is not an acceptable excuse for plagiarism.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip